NDIS Funding

National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS)

AES is an accredited provider for the NDIS and is servicing families in eligible areas.

Accessing the NDIS

To become an NDIS participant you must:

Have a permanent impairment that significantly affects your ability to take part in everyday activities or have a developmental delay, and:

  • be aged less than 65
  • be an Australian citizen or hold a permanent visa or a Protected Special Category visa
  • live in an area where the NDIS has rolled out

NDIS Eligibility for Autism Spectrum Disorder

The latest version of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM-5) categorises Autism Spectrum Disorder into 3 levels:

  • Level 1 – requires support
  • Level 2 – requires substantial support
  • Level 3 – requires very substantial support

NDIS eligibility is based on reduced Functional Capacity in one or more of the following areas:

  • Communication
  • Mobility
  • Social Interaction
  • Learning
  • Self-Care; and
  • Self-Management

Whilst a diagnosis of Autism at any level is likely to meet the access criteria, the NDIA have Lists A-E to assist them to determine eligibility.

Read Section 8.3 of the NDIS Operation Guidelines for more information on ‘Functional Capacity’.

List A – conditions that are likely to automatically meet disability requirements (outlined in Section 24 of the NDIS Act) with no further assessments required:

Autism diagnosed by a specialist multi-disciplinary team, Paediatrician, Psychiatrist or Clinical Psychologist experienced in the assessment of Pervasive Developmental Disorders; and assessed using the current Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) diagnostic criteria as having severity of Level 2 (Requiring substantial support) or Level 3 (Requiring very substantial support).

List B – permanent conditions for which functional capacity is variable and further assessment of functional capacity is generally required:

  • Pervasive developmental disorders not meeting severity criteria in List A or List C
  • Asperger Syndrome
  • Atypical Autism
  • Childhood Autism

List C – refers to defined programs

List D – Permanent Impairment/Early Intervention, under 7 years – no further assessment required

List E – Qualifying programs

Assistance with Funding

If your child is able to access the NDIS as a participant, AES can assist families develop a plan of supports tailored to your child’s individual needs. Please contact us on 9240 5800 should you require assistance.